Grand Prix Images Vevey


The Grand Prix Images Vevey is one of the most prestigious and long-standing photography awards in Europe. Open to artists and photographers around the world, the grant aims to support original creation and is awarded every two years. This CHF 40,000 prize enables one artist to develop a new photography project over the course of a year and present it at the following Biennale Images Vevey. This is also when the Images Vevey Book Award is presented, alongside various other grants representing a total of over CHF 100,000 of financial support for creative projects.


The Grand Prix Images Vevey and Images Vevey Book Award call for entries 2023/2024:
Registrations are closed

Professional artists and photographers, as well as those in training, can register for the 15ᵉ edition of the Grand Prix Images Vevey and/or the 6ᵉ edition of the Images Vevey Book Award from January 2025.

After a first pre-selection phase, a jury of art professionals selects the winning project, which will be carried out within one year and showcased at the following Festival Images.

In 2023, a total of 564 projects from artists hailing from 60 countries have been submitted to the Grand Prix Images Vevey, while 315 projects from 49 countries were submitted to the Images Vevey Book Award.


Since 1995, the Grand Prix Images Vevey has been awarded to:

2023/2024: Sasha Kurmaz (Ukraine)
2021/2022: Lebohang Kganye (South Africa)
2019/2020: Kristine Potter (United States)
2017/2018: Peter Puklus (Hungary)
2015/2016: Christian Patterson (United States)
2013/2014: Augustin Rebetez (Switzerland)
2011/2012: Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh & Rozenn Quéré (Germany/Lebanon & France)
2009/2010: G.M.B Akash (Bangladesh) – Christian Lutz (Switzerland)
2007/2008: Geert Goiris (Belgium)
2006: Claude Baechtold (Switzerland)
2004: Aglaia Konrad (Austria)
2000: Wolfgang Stahr (Germany)
1998: Bogdan Konopka (Poland)
1995: Paulo Nozolino (Portugal)

Since 2016, the Images Vevey Book Award was granted to: 

2023/2024: Debsuddha (India)
2021/2022: Carmen Winant (United States)
2019/2020: Gloria Oyarzabal (Spain)
2017/2018: Jono Rotman (New Zealand)
2015/2016: Laia Abril (Spain)


Presidents of the jurys:

2023/2024: Paul Graham
2021/2022: Teju Cole
2019/2020: Dayanita Singh
2017/2018: Christian Marclay
2015/2016: James Casebere
2013/2014: Bettina Rheims
2011/2012: Andres Serrano
2009/2010: Malik Sidibé
2007/2008: Balthasar Burkhard